Australia Day awards for Volunteer Service (and some staff)

Australian Fire Service Medals (AFSM) Recipients

To the best of our knowledge, there were 5 AFSM recipients within the volunteer ranks.

  1. Group Captain Peter Conn – Comobella Rural Fire Brigade
  2. Captain Harmen Kampman – Candelo Rural Fire Brigade
  3. Group Captain Craig Robertson – Otford Rural Fire Brigade
  4. Group Captain Thomas Sturgeon – Lidster Rural Fire Brigade
  5. Firefighter Ralph Walker – Gladstone-Smithtown Rural Fire Brigade

There were also 2 AFSM recipients within the staff ranks.

  1. Superintendent Kevin Adams – MIA Zone
  2. Superintendent Jayson McKellar – Lower Hunter Zone

Order of Australia Medal (OAM) Recipients

There were 2 OAM recipients that we are aware of:

  1. VFFA President, Peter Cannon
  2. RFSA former President, Brian McKinlay

Congratulations to all the medal recipients.

Content Sharing

Related Posts

  • There is no better time that "Right Now" to implement State Government changes that can help put the "Rural" back into the "Rural Fire Service". Relocation of the Rural Fire Service Head Office was always inevitable and now that the…

  • Peter Cannon and Brian Williams represented the VFFA at the NSW Upper House Public Enquiry into the Wambelong Fire near Coonabarabran in January 2013. Peter and Brian submitted the VFFA submission in two parts, one in a public hearing and the other…

  • MEDIA RELEASE Friday, 15th June 2012 Review of Fire Service Levy The Volunteer Firefighters Association of NSW, the representative association for Volunteers of the NSW Rural Fire Service welcomes the NSW State Governments decision to review the funding model for…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.